With more than half (54%) of the total print salon acceptances from Western Cape members and the Impala print trophy winner, Kim Stevens, from CTPS, it is clear that the Western Cape’s strength lies in prints. The 151 print points gained by members from the region – by far the highest of any region – contributed to the total of 3 053 points from Western Cape members in the 2019-20 Impala year.

Also so: New Impala Trophy rules

The audited Impala Trophy results were published this week on the PSSA website. This means that judging points were added, the points for more than three acceptances per image were discarded and the results of salon acceptances by non-PSSA members are no longer included in the logs.

Marleen la Grange from TPS (left) is the Western Cape’s top salon performer and Kim Stevens (right) from CTPS is the winner of the Impala Print Trophy.

This Impala year’s final top three print workers are Kim Stevens, Charlaine Gerber from Photo Challenge Club and myself, also from CTPS. Marleen la Grange from Tygberg Photographic Society (TPS), who retains her title as the Western Cape salon queen, placed #42 overall, is third in prints in the region and #4 in the country.

Read more about Kim Stevens and Marleen la Grange

The Western Cape is fifth in the overall regional standings, with TPS at #5, by far the best performing club in the region:

Regional positions PSSA salons 2019-20. PDI & Print (See more) and Overall club positions 2019-2020 Impala year – PDI & print (See more).

PSSA RankRegional NamePointsAwards Nr PDIs Nr PrintsPoints PDIPoints prints
2Southern Gauteng52034678466117520329
3Northern Gauteng49434598456929494340
4Kwa-Zulu Natal357533133313035750
5Western Cape3053303529081273137151
PSSA RankClub NameAwards Nr PDIs Nr PrintsTotal PointsPoints PDIPoints prints
1Southern Suburbs157415686180918027
2Bloemfontein1383138211 58815862
41Fish Hoek23323302702700
76Worcester Photo Club1414024240
83Christelike Privaatskool MBY99011110
90DF Malan High770880
96Stellenberg High220440
97Kleinmond Kiekieklub330330
98Paarl Photographic22033 
100Gansbaai Photography110110
103Worcester Fotografieklub110110

There are eight Western Cape members under the Top 100 on the countrywide Impala log and thirteen of the Top 30 in the Western Cape are from TPS.

Western Cape Top 30 individuals out of 1 206 people with acceptances (See more)

PSSA RankNameClubPDI TotalPDI ColourPDI NaturePDI Open MonoJudge pointsWC Rank
42Marleen la GrangeTygerberg1611051034121
54Karyn ParisiFish Hoek14043641602
62Andre StippTygerberg132722820123
70Elizma FourieHermanus12166233204
83Leney StippTygerberg10655292205
83Phillip de LangeSwartland10662115285
87Charles NaudeHermanus10337521407
98Christo la GrangeTygerberg9641133488
106Neels BeyersTafelberg8964111049
110Lynne Kruger-HayeTygerberg86372192810
114Treurnicht du ToitHermanus82432811011
118Louise de LangeWorcester7936383212
118Stephen BurgstahlerTygerberg79451481212
120Chris CoetzeeCTPS786396014
131Dieter ButowCTPS70381913015
142Johan van WykTygerberg6736219016
142Mariana VisserTafelberg675207816
145Carolyn KewleyTygerberg6645318018
148Peter HardcastleSwartland64287131619
162Dante ParisiFish Hoek55141816020
162David BarnesTygerberg55190201620
166Clifford WyethTygerberg54173102421
175Rob MinterTygerberg5127420022
176Andre de KoketTafelberg5036113023
183Nicol du ToitCTPS4812082824
186Derrick SmitTygerberg4618253025
191Jeanette du ToitCTPS4525164026
191Pieter SwartSwartland453618026
193Alida HeineTygerberg4426612028
193Sonja GrunbauerCTPS4432012028
210Dawid WilsonHermanus392838030

The following Western Cape PSSA members contributed to the region’s excellent print performance:

PSSA #NameClubPrint pointsNr printsColourNatureMonoWC #
1Kim StevensCTPS2317130101
2Charlaine GerberPhoto Challenge18101008
3Nicol du ToitCTPS1387062
4 (joint)Marleen la GrangeTygerberg12108043
5 (joint)Christo la GrangeTygerberg1184074
9 (joint)Elizma FourieHermanus644025
9 (joint)Haralambos ParolisCTPS662045
9 (joint)Jacoba van ZylCTPS663035
9 (joint)Louise de LangeWorcester652045
10 (joint)Peter HardcastleSwartland540059
10 (joint)Phillip de LangeSwartland565009
20 (joint)Lesley ParolisCTPS3230011
22 (joint)Jeanette du ToitCTPS2220011
22 (joint)Margaret CollinsCTPS2220011
22 (joint)Mariana VisserTafelberg2120011
22 (joint)Neels BeyersTafelberg2210111
33 (joint)Coert VenterDurbanville1100116
33 (joint)David WilsonHermanus1110016
33 (joint)Pieter SwartSwartland1110016
Best salon performers per Western Cape Club*
Creative Camera Club: Elizabeth Cook 
CTPS: Chris Coetzee 
Durbanville: Coert Venter 
Fish Hoek: Karyn Parisi 
Hermanus: Elizma Fourie 
Swartland: Phillip de Lange 
Tafelberg: Neels Beyers 
Tygerberg: Marleen la Grange 
Worcester: Louise de Lange 
*Must have at least 10 acceptances to qualify for the award.

Trix Jonker from Bloemfontein Kameraklub is this year’s overall Impala Trophy winner, followed by Martin Barber from Southern Suburbs and Jaco du Toit from Imagelink Virtual Club. Bloemfontein Kameraklub is clearly the top performer in the Nature category, with the top three places occupied by club members Francois van der Watt, Geo Jooste and Trix Jonker.

PDI Trophy ClubPDI totalColourNatureMonoJudging points
1Trix JonkerBloemfontein388197112754
2Martin BarberSouthern Suburbs379223712028
3Jaco du ToitImagelink Virtual332148109750
Open Colour ClubTotal
1Martin BarberSouthern Suburbs223
2Trix JonkerBloemfontein197
3Charlaine GerberPhoto Challenge192
Nature ClubTotal
1Francois vd WattBloemfontein140
2Geo JoosteBloemfontein130
3Trix JonkerBloemfontein112
Monochrome ClubTotal
1Martin BarberSothern Suburbs120
2Leon VenterBethal Fotografie86
3Willem KrugerIndependent84

The AV Trophy winner is Jill Sneesby from Port Elizabeth, with Luana Laubscher from Knysna and Adri van Oudheusden, also from Port Elizabeth, joint second. Eric Thorburn of Sandton Photographic Society, Trix Jonker of Bloemfontein and Paul Rixom of George Camera Club are joint third in the AV section.